ABA League j.t.d. Assembly session took place in Zagreb

Monday, 10. July 2017 at 17:47

The session of the Assembly of the clubs of the ABA League j.t.d., held on 10 July 2017 in International Hotel, Zagreb, reached a series of decisions with a goal of further strengthening of the competition and development of basketball throughout the region.

ABA League logo

In accordance with the founding act and rotation based on the alphabetical order, at the ABA League j.t.d. session the changes within the Presidency were made. Crvena zvezda mts president Nebojša Čović was named President for the 2017/18 season, while Cibona General Manager Domagoj Čavlović was, besides Igokea General Manager Igor Dodik, named the vice-president.

The ABA League j.t.d. Assembly has recognized extremely strong interest and need of the clubs for founding the Second ABA League. ABA League j.t.d. will act accordingly in order to start the Second ABA League already for the 2017/18 ABA League season. Convinced that it is a project that will have a huge influence on growth and development of basketball, ABA League j.t.d. will in the shortest possible period conduct discussions with all key basketball subjects within the region and inform them about the details of the project that will consider results in the domestic championships of the ABA League countries as the criterion for taking the spots in the Second ABA League.

Depending on the outcome of the planned discussions, ABA League j.t.d. will, at the next Assembly on 24 July 2017, determine the final status and precise dates of the start of the Second ABA League.

With a goal of raising the quality and popularity of basketball, the ABA League j.t.d. Assembly has also reached a decision to organize junior (U19) tournaments during the 2017/18 season.

The ABA League j.t.d. Assembly has confirmed the Propositions for the 2017/18 season, financial plan and calendar of the competition, after which, the competition numbers were determined.

The 2017/18 season will begin on 30 September 2017. The regular part will end on 11 March 2018. Playoffs will begin on 17 March 2018, while the Finals are planned to end by 15 April 2018.

The complete schedule for the 2018/19 season can be seen HERE.